Arkansas Foreclosure Laws
Attorney General's Office
200 Tower Building
323 Center St.
Little Rock, AR 72201-2610
Ph: (501) 682-2007
Foreclosure Laws in Arkansas
Judicial Foreclosure: Yes
Non-Judicial Foreclosure: Yes
Security Instruments: Trust Deed
Right of Redemption: Judicial Foreclosure Only. 12 Months
Deficiency Judgments: Non-Judicial Foreclosure Only
Time Frame: 4-5 Months
Public Notice: Complaint
In both judicial and non-judicial foreclosure, the property must be appraised prior
to the sale and may not sell for less than two thirds of the appraised value. If
it fails to sell at that value or more, it may be offered for sale again within
12 months to the highest bidder without reference to the appraisal.
Judicial foreclosure: The court decrees the amount to be paid,
and gives the borrower a brief period to cure the default. If the borrower fails
to do so, the clerk of the court advertises the property for sale.
The property may be purchased at the sale on credit for at least three months but
not more than six months. A lien to secure payment will be retained and the purchaser
must also post a surety bond in the amount of the sale price.
If the property fails to sell for the amount of the loan balance, the lender may
seize other property of the borrower as in an ordinary judgment. The borrower has
one year in which to redeem the property.
Non-judicial foreclosure: Requires that a power of sale clause
authorizing the lender to sell the property in the event of default be included
in the loan document. If the power of sale clause specifies the time, place, and
terms of sale then that procedure must be followed. If not, the process is as follows:
A notice of default and intent to sell must be recorded in the county in which the
property is located, and published in a newspaper of general circulation in the
county weekly for four consecutive weeks, with the final publication no less than
ten days prior to the sale date. The trustee must, within five days of recordation
of the notice, send a copy by certified mail to all parties to the deed of trust.
At the sale, the successful bidder has 10 days in which to fund his purchase.
The sale may be postponed for up to 7 days by public proclamation at the time and
place of sale. If postponed longer, the notice procedure must be repeated.
The lender may sue for a deficiency judgment within 12 months of the sale date.